Skip Navigation






Member Profile

San Luis Obispo Council of Governments (SLOCOG)

Agency Type: Council of Governments, Metropolitan Planning Organization, Regional Transportation Planning Agency
Summary Profile:

As both an Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) and Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA), SLOCOG develops the transportation plan and allocates (programs) transportation funds throughout San Luis Obispo County.  It is also the Council of Governments (COG) responsible for distributing the Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA).  In addition, SLOCOG is a Regional Census Data Affiliate (CDA) for public access to census data and analysis as it relates to San Luis Obispo County and the Service Authority for Freeways & Expressways (SAFE) and administers the callbox program.   

SLOCOG is a member of the Central Coast Coalition

SLOCOG is also a member of the Highway 101 Coalition.  

Number of Members: Eight: the county and seven incorporated cities
Population Represented: 277,977
Primary Funding Sources: Federal and state transportation funding
Staff: 17
Program Highlights:
  • LOSSAN--SLOCOG’s region is the northern most tip of the Los Angeles-San Diego-San Luis Obispo (LOSSAN) Rail Corridor.  LOSSAN spans 351 miles and services 6 counties, with a total population of approximately 17.4 million, making it one of the busiest passenger rail corridors in the nation.  LOSSAN reduces traffic congestion and improves mobility and air quality along the I-5 and 101 highways, serves Southern California's key coastal communities, and promotes community and transit-oriented development.
  • US Highway 101--The main corridor for how to move people, as well as goods, up and down the Central Coast.  SLOCOG has developed multiple studies along the corridor for improving access, mobility, and movement throughout the region.  The US 101 Corridor Mobility Master Plan examines current conditions along the corridor, identifies deficiencies, and helps to identify the top priorities for multimodal improvements and funding strategies. 
Board Makeup:

The Board of Directors is comprised of 5 members from the County Board of Supervisors, 1 representative from each of the 7 cities in the region, and 1 ex-officio member representing Caltrans District 5.  

Executive Director: Pete Rodgers
CALCOG Board Representative: Fred Strong, Council Member, City of Paso Robles
Web Link:
Sep. 30, 2019

Now, the infamous Cholame intersection of State Highways 41 and 46 in San Luis Obispo County that claimed the life of James Dean 64 years ago is finally getting fixed--in large part due to the influx of funding that came from SB 1.

Jun. 23, 2017

The National Association of Regional Councils recognized City of Paso Robles Council Member Fred Strong and Stanislaus County Supervisor Vito Chiesa for their excellence in regional leadership.